The Year That Was

Hi everyone, how are you? How’s 2014 so far? Spent New Year’s Eve alone while chatting with a friend and reading a book at the same time. I’m reading The Fault in our Stars by John Green. I’m on Chapter 5 now. Hopefully, I would be able to finish reading the book this month. It’s been a while since the last time I posted in my blog. A year and five months?  Whoa! That long. I guess I was really preoccupied for the past years. Things have been really tough lately, though. I don’t have anyone to talk about it with so I decided to write it instead.

Year 2013 has been good to me in terms of my career. From January to December, I’ve been one of the best employees. I had a very supportive supervisor. He never gave up on me. He helped me to bounce back and get back on track. Yes, I committed mistakes but he still trusted me. I know there are doubters. In fact, there will always be doubters. We can’t avoid them. No matter what we do, they will always have something to say.  There will always come a time wherein they will remind me of the mistakes I committed. No regrets, just lessons learned.  Unfortunately, my supervisor was transferred to another account. I have a new supervisor now who is very supportive as well.

Last quarter of 2012, I met someone. We dated for quite some time. Around December, we made it official. The only problem was he is discreet. It was the most complicated relationship ever. It is worse than a secret relationship. You don’t get to introduce him to your friends even just as friends. I don’t want to get into details since it has been a roller-coaster ride of emotions. The relationship lasted for a year. Then here comes your so-called friends saying that I was just hallucinating. If only they knew what was really happening. I just don’t get it why they started making up stories. Was it because I never introduced him to them? That is sad. I’m hurt. I guess this is one of those situations where you really get to know who your friends are huh? And what do you do to these kinds of douchebags? You dispose them.

They say life changes every minute of each day. You lose and gain friends. Just like in my case, I realized that my friend was not ever really my friend at all. Most often than not, the person you used to hate can make a really good friend. True enough. I can attest to that. We look and find love and eventually lose it. Then we realized that all along we have been loved.  Mistakes. You do this and that. You sometimes wish you hadn’t done that. But you then become proud because you learn from it and will be one of the experiences that you can share.

In the end you just find yourself happy to be living life, no matter what’s thrown at you. Lessons learned. Mistakes corrected. Blessings earned. Things ended. New doors opened.

Thank you, 2013. Bring it, 2014!

P.S. If you have a twitter account, you can follow me: @luckwatchero.

~ by luckwatchero on January 6, 2014.

One Response to “The Year That Was”

  1. Happy Chinese New Year! I Iike your writing dhenz. About the book The Fault in our Stars by John Green, is it reaLLy interesting? I stay away from deaths and tragedies, my mind can’t get handLe very sorrowfuL or hatefuL events. I prefer adventure Like harry potter and eragon.

Leave a Reply

 
